Showing all 7 results

  • booksreddit.com:A People's History of the United States

    A People’s History of the United States


    Minneapolis Forum on Black America with Bernie Sanders MEGATHREAD
    “It’s a wonderful, splendid book—a book that should be read by every American, student or otherwise, who wants to understand his country, its true history, and its hope for the future.” —Howard Fast, author of Spartacus and The Immigrants“[It] should be required reading.” —Eric Foner, New York Times Book ReviewLibrary Journal calls Howard Zinn’s iconic A People’s History of the United States “a brilliant and moving history of the American people from the point of view of those…whose plight ha…

  • booksreddit.com:America Again: Re-becoming the Greatness We Never Weren't

    America Again: Re-becoming the Greatness We Never Weren’t


    What the FUCK do we do if Trump doesn’t win this thing? I am not kidding when I say I would give my life fighting against this globalist syndicate. I guess I’ll be buying guns soon.• /r/The_Donald
    Book store nation, in the history of mankind there has never been a greater country than America. You could say we’re the #1 nation at being the best at greatness.But as perfect as America is in every single way, America is broken! And we can’t exchange it because we’re 236 years past the 30-day return window. Look around–we don’t make anything anymore, we’ve mortgaged our future to China, and the Apologist-in-Chief goes on world tours just to bow before foreign leaders. Worse, the L.A. Four…

  • booksreddit.com:So You've Been Publicly Shamed

    So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed


    BTFO from “Leave Britney alone” guy
    Now a New York Times bestseller and from the author of The Psychopath Test, a captivating and brilliant exploration of one of our world’s most underappreciated forces: shame. ‘It’s about the terror, isn’t it?’ ‘The terror of what?’ I said. ‘The terror of being found out.’ For the past three years, Jon Ronson has travelled the world meeting recipients of high-profile public shamings. The shamed are people like us – people who, say, made a joke on social media that came out badly, or made a mis…

  • booksreddit.com:Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

    Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative


    The New York FBI office is actually rigged. Three MUST READ bombshells you missed today because of… things.
    In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the c…

  • booksreddit.com:Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right

    Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right


    Dear The Donald: Jesus wasn’t white. *Trigger warning*
    Listen to Al Franken as interviewed by Dan Susskind of Another Perspective on VoiceAmerica.com!Get the free Real PlayerAl Franken, one of our “savviest satirists” (People), has been studying the rhetoric of the Right. He has listened to their cries of “slander,” “bias,” and even “treason.” He has examined the Bush administration’s policies of squandering our surplus, ravaging the environment, and alienating the rest of the world. He’s even watched Fox News. A lot.And, in this fair and balance…

  • booksreddit.com:Islam and the Future of Tolerance: A Dialogue

    Islam and the Future of Tolerance: A Dialogue


    Richard Dawkins, a well-known critic of Islam, insults Donald Trump on Twitter: “Hillary knowledgeable, intelligent, presidential. Trump blustered incoherently like the ignorant, fact-disdaining, vainglorious bully he is.”
    In this short book, Sam Harris and Maajid Nawaz invite you to join an urgently needed conversation: Is Islam a religion of peace or war? Is it amenable to reform? Why do so many Muslims seem drawn to extremism? What do words like Islamism, jihadism, and fundamentalism mean in today’s world?Remarkable for the breadth and depth of its analysis, this dialogue between a famous atheist and a former radical is all the more startling for its decorum. Harris and Nawaz have produced something genuinel…

  • booksreddit.com:Walk Through Walls: A Memoir

    Walk Through Walls: A Memoir


    We’ve now reached the point where white men, fearing a woman leader, devolve into the centuries-old tradition of accusing her of witchcraft.
    “I had experienced absolute freedom—I had felt that my body was without boundaries, limitless; that pain didn’t matter, that nothing mattered at all—and it intoxicated me.”In 2010, more than 750,000 people stood in line at Marina Abramović’s MoMA retrospective for the chance to sit across from her and communicate with her nonverbally in an unprecedented durational performance that lasted more than 700 hours. This celebration of nearly fifty years of groundbreaking performance art demonstrated…