Historical

81–92 of 92 results

  • booksreddit.com:Clinton

    Clinton, Inc.: The Audacious Rebuilding of a Political Machine

    321

    Trump Proven Right: Ex Top Hillary Clinton Aide: 'She's Tired'; Disdains Meeting Voters – The Gateway Pundit
    Weekly Standard editor Daniel Halper provides a meticulously researched account of the brilliant calculations, secret deals, and occasionally treacherous maneuverings that led to the Clintons’ return to political prominence.In the twelve years since the Clintons left the White House, they have gone from being virtually penniless to multi-millionaires, and are arguably the most popular politicians in America—respected and feared by Republicans and Democrats alike. But behind that rise is a nev… more about book…


  • booksreddit.com:The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt (Modern Library Paperbacks)

    The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt (Modern Library Paperbacks)

    314

    Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all timeDescribed by the Chicago Tribune as “a classic,” The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt stands as one of the greatest biographies of our time. The publication of The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt on September 14th, 2001 marks the 100th anniversary of Theodore Roosevelt becoming president.


  • booksreddit.com:Tides of War

    Tides of War

    298

    Brilliant at war, a master of politics, and a charismatic lover, Alcibiades was Athens’ favorite son and the city’s greatest general.A prodigal follower of Socrates, he embodied both the best and the worst of the Golden Age of Greece. A commander on both land and sea, he led his armies to victory after victory.But like the heroes in a great Greek tragedy, he was a victim of his own pride, arrogance, excess, and ambition. Accused of crimes against the state, he was banished from his beloved At…


  • booksreddit.com:Thy Kingdom Come

    Thy Kingdom Come

    280

    This is a true story, a once upon a time between a woman, a puma, and a unique in the world country, Costa Rica. The woman of courageous beauty, the puma from death’s door, the jungle paradox that brought the two together. A story of courage, taking down poachers, adversaries and government. Walk with her through every jungle, see eye to eye with the wilds. Feel the emotional beats of both her heart and the animals. The steps that were taken to bring justice back for the wild animals of the …


  • booksreddit.com:Hitler (Harvest Book)

    Hitler (Harvest Book)

    279

    A bestseller in its original German edition and subsequently translated into more than a dozen languages, Joachim Fest’s Hitler as become a classic portrait of a man, a nation, and an era. Fest tells and interprets the extraordinary story of a man’s and a nation’s rise from impotence to absolute power, as Germany and Hitler, from shared premises, entered into their covenant. He shows Hitler exploiting the resentments of the shaken, post-World War I social order and seeing through all that w…


  • booksreddit.com:Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

    Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

    253

    The New York FBI office is actually rigged. Three MUST READ bombshells you missed today because of… things.
    In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the c…


  • booksreddit.com:Gandhi: An Autobiography - The Story of My Experiments With Truth

    Gandhi: An Autobiography – The Story of My Experiments With Truth

    241

    Mohandas K. Gandhi is one of the most inspiring figures of our time. In his classic autobiography he recounts the story of his life and how he developed his concept of active nonviolent resistance, which propelled the Indian struggle for independence and countless other nonviolent struggles of the twentieth century.In a new foreword, noted peace expert and teacher Sissela Bok urges us to adopt Gandhi’s “attitude of experimenting, of tesing what will and will not bear close scrutiny, what can …


  • booksreddit.com:With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln

    With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln

    216

    “Full, fair, and accurate. . . . Certainly the most objective biography of Lincoln ever written.” —Pulitzer Prize-winner David Herbert Donald, New York Times Book ReviewFrom preeminent Civil War historian Stephen B. Oates comes the book the Washington Post hails as “the standard one-volume biography of Lincoln.” Oates’ With Malice Toward None is recognized as the seminal biography of the Sixteenth President, by one of America’s most prominent historia…


  • booksreddit.com:At Home: A Short History of Private Life

    At Home: A Short History of Private Life

    205

    From one of the most beloved authors of our  time—a fascinating excursion into the history behind the place we call home. “Houses aren’t refuges from history. They are where history ends up.”  Bill Bryson and his family live in a Victorian parsonage in a part of England where nothing of any great significance has happened since the Romans decamped. Yet one day, he began to consider how very little he knew about the ordinary things of life as he found it in that comfortable home. To remedy thi…


  • booksreddit.com:Alice: Alice Roosevelt Longworth

    Alice: Alice Roosevelt Longworth, from White House Princess to Washington Power Broker

    198

    An entertaining and eye-opening biography of America’s most memorable first daughterFrom the moment Teddy Roosevelt’s outrageous and charming teenage daughter strode into the White House—carrying a snake and dangling a cigarette—the outspoken Alice began to put her imprint on the whole of the twentieth-century political scene. Her barbed tongue was as infamous as her scandalous personal life, but whenever she talked, powerful people listened, and she reigned for eight decades as the social do…


  • booksreddit.com:Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage

    Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal

    174

    Eddie Chapman was a charming criminal, a con man, and a philanderer. He was also one of the most remarkable double agents Britain has ever produced. Inside the traitor was a man of loyalty; inside the villain was a hero. The problem for Chapman, his spymasters, and his lovers was to know where one persona ended and the other began.In 1941, after training as a German spy in occupied France, Chapman was parachuted into Britain with a revolver, a wireless, and a cyanide pill, with orders from th…


  • booksreddit.com:Heart of a Soldier

    Heart of a Soldier

    96

    MSNBC news panel shocked to learn Trump predicted 9/11 in Jan 2000, over 19 months before the attack
    From Pulitzer Prize winner James B. Stewart comes the extraordinary story of American hero Rick Rescorla, Morgan Stanley security director and a veteran of Vietnam and the British colonial wars in Rhodesia, who lost his life on September 11.Heart of a Soldier is the extraordinary story of war, love and comradeship, danger and heroism, told by a Pulitzer Prize winner who is one of our finest writers. When Rick Rescorla got home from Vietnam, he tried to put combat and death behind him, but he … more about book…