booksreddit.com:Democracy Incorporated: Managed Democracy and the Specter of Inverted Totalitarianism

Democracy Incorporated: Managed Democracy and the Specter of Inverted Totalitarianism

694

Democracy is struggling in America–by now this statement is almost cliché. But what if the country is no longer a democracy at all? In Democracy Incorporated, Sheldon Wolin considers the unthinkable: has America unwittingly morphed into a new and strange kind of political hybrid, one where economic and state powers are conjoined and virtually unbridled? Can the nation check its descent into what the author terms “inverted totalitarianism”? Wolin portrays a country where citizens are politic…

More details

Most upvoted comment

Mass surveillance exposed by Snowden ‘not justified by fight against terrorism’ – Report by Nils Muižnieks, commissioner for human rights at the Council of Europe, says ‘secret, massive and indiscriminate’ intelligence work is contrary to rule of law(r/worldnews)

Most have no clue what’s really going on in the world… the elites are afraid of political awakening.

This (mass surveillance) by the NSA and abuse by law enforcement is just more part and parcel of state suppression of dissent against corporate interests. They’re worried that the more people are going to wake up and corporate centers like the US and canada may be among those who also awaken. See this vid with Zbigniew Brzezinski, former United States National Security Advisor.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ttv6n7PFniY

Science on reasoning, reason doesn’t work the way we thought it did:

Brezinski at a press conference

The real news:

therealnews.com/t2/

www.amazon.com/Democracy-Incorporated-Managed-Inve…

www.amazon.com/Shadow-Government-Surveillance-Secu…

www.amazon.com/National-Security-Government-Michae…

Look at the following graphs:

IMGUR link – imgur.com/a/FShfb

www2.ucsc.edu/whorulesamerica/power/images/wealth/… www2.ucsc.edu/whorulesamerica/power/images/wealth/… www2.ucsc.edu/whorulesamerica/power/wealth.html

And then…

WIKILEAKS: U.S. Fought To Lower Minimum Wage In Haiti So Hanes And Levis Would Stay Cheap

www.businessinsider.com/wikileaks-haiti-minimum-wa…

Free markets?

www.amazon.com/Empire-Illusion-Literacy-Triumph-Sp…

“We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this “other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.”

Important history:

williamblum.org/

More details about a book.

Additional Information

Subreddits

politics, worldnews

Number Of Links

4

Sum Of Upvotes

394

Amazon Price

$12.98

NSFW Product

SFW

Book Binding

Paperback

Type Code

ABIS_BOOK

Book Author

Sheldon S. Wolin

Book Edition

With a New preface by the author

Book Publisher

Princeton University Press

Book On Amazon

Democracy Incorporated: Managed Democracy and the Specter of Inverted Totalitarianism

Post Title

Mass surveillance exposed by Snowden ‘not justified by fight against terrorism’ – Report by Nils Muižnieks, commissioner for human rights at the Council of Europe, says ‘secret, massive and in

Reddit Gold

0

More details